Graduate students

Graduate students contribute to the lab and complete their masters’ theses based on their work at NeuroSim.

In progress

Vanja Davidovic
Vanja Davidovic
M.Sc. Candidate, McGill University

THESIS | TBD

vanja.davidovic@mail.mcgill.ca
Bianca Giglio
Bianca Giglio
M.Sc. Candidate, McGill University

THESIS | TBD

bianca.giglio@mail.mcgill.ca
Puja Pachchigar
Puja Pachchigar
M.Sc. Candidate, McGill University

THESIS | TBD

puja.pachchigar@mail.mcgill.ca
Trisha Tee
Trisha Tee
M.Sc. Candidate, McGill University

THESIS | TBD

trisha.tee@mail.mcgill.ca
Dr. Bilal Tarabay
Dr. Bilal Tarabay
Neurosurgery Fellow, Université de Montréal and M.Sc. Candidate, McGill University

THESIS | TBD

bilal.tarabay@umontreal.ca
Dr. Lucy Luo
Dr. Lucy Luo
Orthopaedic Resident and M.Sc. Candidate, Experimental Surgery, McGill University

THESIS | TBD

lucy.luo@mail.mcgill.ca

Completed

2024

Dr. Mohamed Alhantoobi
Dr. Mohamed Alhantoobi

Neurosurgery Resident, McMaster University, and M.Sc. Experimental Surgery, McGill University

THESIS | Assessing a New Grading System for Virtual Reality 2 Pedicle Screw Placement– A 3 Case Series Study

[PDF]

mohamed.alhantoobi@medportal.ca

Dr. Recai Yilmaz
Dr. Recai Yilmaz

Ph.D. Experimental Surgery, McGill University

THESIS | Development, Validation, and Testing of Artificial Intelligence Systems for Assessment and Training of Simulated Surgical Technical Skills

[PDF]

recai.yilmaz@mail.mcgill.ca

2023

Dr. Abdulrahman Almansouri
Dr. Abdulrahman Almansouri
M.Sc. Experimental Surgery, McGill University

THESIS | Continuous Instrument Tracking in a Cerebral Corticectomy Ex Vivo Calf Brain Simulation Model: Face and Content Validation

[PDF]

abdulrahman.almansouri@mail.mcgill.ca

2022

Nour Abou Hamdan, MSc
Nour Abou Hamdan, MSc
M.Sc. Experimental Surgery, McGill University

THESIS | Continuous Assessment of Instrument Tracking in an Ex Vivo Calf Brain Epilepsy Simulation Model

[PDF]

nour.abouhamdan@mail.mcgill.ca

Dr. Alexander Winkler-Schwartz
Dr. Alexander Winkler-Schwartz
Ph.D. Integrated Program in Neuroscience, McGill University

THESIS | Improving Neurosurgical Operative Performance Through Virtual Reality Simulation and Artificial Intelligence

[PDF]
awinklerschwartz@gmail.com
Dr. Ahmad M. Alsayegh
Dr. Ahmad M. Alsayegh
M.Sc. Experimental Surgery, McGill University

THESIS | Best Practice Using Ex Vivo Animal Brain Modelling in Neurosurgical Education to Assess Surgical Expertise

[PDF]
ahmad.alsayegh@mail.mcgill.ca

2021

Dr. Mohamad Bakhaidar
Dr. Mohamad Bakhaidar
M.Sc. Experimental Surgery, McGill University

THESIS | Surgical Performance Analysis in a Simulated Virtual Reality Anterior Cervical Discectomy and Fusion Task

[PDF]
m.bakhaidar@hotmail.com
Ali Fazlollahi, MSc
Ali Fazlollahi, MSc
M.Sc. Experimental Surgery, McGill University

THESIS | Artificial Intelligence Tutoring Compared with Expert Instruction in Surgical Simulation Training - A Randomized Controlled Trial

[PDF]
ali.fazlollahi@mail.mcgill.ca
Sharif Natheir, MSc
Sharif Natheir, MSc
M.Sc. Experimental Surgery, McGill University

THESIS | Utilizing Machine Learning and Electroencephalography to Assess Expertise in Virtual Neurosurgical Performance

[PDF]
sharif.natheir@mail.mcgill.ca

2020

Aiden Reich, MSc
Aiden Reich, MSc
M.Sc. Experimental Surgery, McGill University

THESIS | Artificial Neural Network Approach to Competency-Based Training

[PDF]

aiden.reich@mail.mcgill.ca

Dan Huy Tran, MSc
Dan Huy Tran, MSc
M.Sc. Experimental Surgery, McGill University

THESIS | Quantitation of Tissue Resection Utilizing A Brain Tumor Model And 7-Tesla MRI Imaging Technology

[PDF]

dan.h.tran@mail.mcgill.ca

2019

Dr. Vincent Bissonnette
Dr. Vincent Bissonnette

M.Sc. Experimental Surgery, McGill University

THESIS | Artificial Intelligence Distinguishes Surgical Training Levels In a Virtual Reality Spinal Task

[PDF]

vincent.bissonnette@mail.mcgill.ca

Nicole Ledwos, MSc
Nicole Ledwos, MSc

M.Sc. Integrated Program in Neuroscience, McGill University

THESIS | Virtual Reality Anterior Cervical Discectomy and Fusion Simulation on the Sim-Ortho Platform: Validation Studies

[PDF]

nicole.ledwos@mail.mcgill.ca

Nykan Mirchi, MSc
Nykan Mirchi, MSc

M.Sc. Experimental Surgery, McGill University

THESIS | Artificial Neural Networks to Assess Virtual Reality Anterior Cervical Discectomy Performance

[PDF]

nykan.mirchi@mail.mcgill.ca

2018

Dr. Ghusn Alsideiri
Dr. Ghusn Alsideiri

M.Sc. Experimental Surgery, McGill University

THESIS | Validating a spinal simulation model using NeuroVR

[PDF]

alsidierighusn@hotmail.com

2017

Robin Sawaya, MSc
Robin Sawaya, MSc

M.Sc. Integrated Program in Neuroscience, McGill University

THESIS | Role of Hand Ergonomics in Virtual Reality Brain Tumor Resections

[PDF]

robin.sawaya@mail.mcgill.ca

Dr. Abdulgadir F. Bugdadi
Dr. Abdulgadir F. Bugdadi

M.Sc. Experimental Surgery, McGill University (January 2017)

THESIS | Automaticity of Force Application during Simulated Brain Tumor Resection: Testing the Fitts and Posner Model

[PDF]

abdulgadir.bugdadi@mail.mcgill.ca

2016

Rickul Varshney MD
Rickul Varshney MD

M.Sc. Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery, McGill University (August 2016)

THESIS | Development and initial validation of the McGill Simulator for Endoscopic Sinus Surgery (MSESS)

[PDF]

2015

Dr. Khalid Bajunaid, MD
Dr. Khalid Bajunaid, MD

M.Sc. Experimental Surgery, McGill University (July 2015)

THESIS | Acute Stress Impacts Psychomotor Bimanual Performance During Simulated Tumor Resection Task

[PDF]

khalid.bajunaid@mail.mcgill.ca

2014

Dr. Fahad Alotaibi, MD
Dr. Fahad Alotaibi, MD

M.Sc. Experimental Surgery, McGill University (July 2014)

THESIS | Assessing Bimanual Performance in Brain Tumour Resection using Novel Virtual Reality Simulator NeuroTouch

[PDF]

Presentations

dr.fahad.o@gmail.com

Dr. Gmaan Al-Zhrani MD
Dr. Gmaan Al-Zhrani MD

M.A. Department of Educational Psychology, McGill University (June 2014)

THESIS | A Validation Study of a Virtual-Reality Neurosimulator (NeuroTouch) in Neurosurgical Training

[PDF]

Presentations

gmaan.al-zhrani@mail.mcgill.ca